Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
TV MOBILE
Byrne Robotics | TV
Topic: HALP!!!!! Post Reply | Post New Topic
Author
Message
John Byrne

Imaginary X-Man

Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 122006
Posted: 07 October 2020 at 7:13pm | IP Logged | 1 post reply

Merrily watching STUDIO 60. Suddenly, the fourth disk starts glitching like crazy. But, I remember I had bought a replacement set. I was watching the wrong disks!

So, popped in the replacement disk 4 and——glitch glitch glitch!!!

What???

Anybody have (helpful) thoughts on what’s going on?

Back to Top profile | search
 
Paul Gibney
Byrne Robotics Member.


Joined: 17 April 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 957
Posted: 08 October 2020 at 6:11am | IP Logged | 2 post reply

Do the other disc still play? The question is, is it the
disc(s) or is it the player?
Back to Top profile | search
 
John Byrne

Imaginary X-Man

Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 122006
Posted: 08 October 2020 at 6:18am | IP Logged | 3 post reply

It's just the fourth disk, as I said.
Back to Top profile | search
 
Ryan Maxwell
Byrne Robotics Member


Joined: 16 April 2004
Location: United States
Posts: 12501
Posted: 08 October 2020 at 9:19am | IP Logged | 4 post reply

Skimming through the Amazon reviews, this stood out under One Star:

I love Aaron Sorkin and he can do no wrong in my book but these DVDs came with 3 damaged parts where it would skip over including the complete final episode! That is simply unforgivable. Series is great, do yourself a favor and watch it, just get it somewhere else.
Back to Top profile | search e-mail
 
John Byrne

Imaginary X-Man

Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 122006
Posted: 08 October 2020 at 11:33am | IP Logged | 5 post reply

This is how no good deed goes unpunished! I loved the show so much I gave the boxed set—which was fine— to a friend. Bought another. Repeat. Watching the third set and——-
Back to Top profile | search
 
Bill Collins
Byrne Robotics Member


Joined: 26 May 2005
Location: England
Posts: 10958
Posted: 10 October 2020 at 2:10pm | IP Logged | 6 post reply

Have you tried cleaning the disc, or dusting the tray on
the player? A brand new disc played perfectly last week,
then 2 days later, it kept freezing. I gently wiped both
the disc and tray, and it worked perfectly. I have no
idea if it was dust, grease or pet hair, but these
things do sometimes make discs glitch.
Back to Top profile | search e-mail
 
John Harrison
Byrne Robotics Member


Joined: 27 July 2007
Posts: 1279
Posted: 10 October 2020 at 3:41pm | IP Logged | 7 post reply

I ran into this a few times. Repeat purchase to replace a set I "loaned" out.

Second set was lower quality or unplayable. Long story short there were
different companies producing the same DVD sets what you most like ran into
was the third purchase had a different point of origin.

Trying playing disk on your computer. My iMac usually could play a disk that
my DVD player would reject or stumble with.




Back to Top profile | search
 
John Byrne

Imaginary X-Man

Joined: 11 May 2005
Posts: 122006
Posted: 10 October 2020 at 3:53pm | IP Logged | 8 post reply

It doesn’t help that my player is a Blu/DVD hybrid, and somewhat snobby. It will take a while to acknowledge a DVD is in the tray!
Back to Top profile | search
 

If you wish to post a reply to this topic you must first login
If you are not already registered you must first register

  Post Reply | Post New Topic |

Forum Jump

 Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login

You are currently viewing the MOBILE version of the site.
CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE FULL SITE