Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum MOBILE
Byrne Robotics | The John Byrne Forum << Prev Page of 444 Next >>
Topic: Acting Presidential Post Reply | Post New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 14 June 2020 at 12:30am | IP Logged | 1 post reply

It’s not just in the moral sense, Rodrigo.

Agree. I chose to frame it in that way because a) I'm not an expert on the entire history of US presidents and b) an argument could be made his presidency was not that bad in some segments (economy pre-COVID, for instance). But at what price? I'm 100% convinced though, that a man of such low moral fiber being elected at that high of an office is unprecedented.

And what I find second most upsetting about the possible future (#1 being an unhinged Trump in a second term, of course) is Biden being elected, not killing small animals on camera, and suddenly it's all good again. It'd be like putting a Band-Aid on a samurai sword inflicted flesh wound.

Obviously I don't think "both sides are the same" and Democrats have been demonstrably more competent in handling the government in recent times but they never addressed the real issues in a serious way, they thrive on not being as bad as the other guys. The whole system is rigged to work in this way (everywhere, not just in the US).

I am and always was an admirer of Barack Obama but (and this is tough to think about) what kind of legacy or foundation did he leave in his 8 years in office if it paved the way for this current nightmare?

No easy answers.

Back to Top profile | search

David Allen Perrin
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 14 June 2020 at 8:00am | IP Logged | 2 post reply

I am and always was an admirer of Barack Obama but (and this is tough to think about) what kind of legacy or foundation did he leave in his 8 years in office if it paved the way for this current nightmare?”