Active Topics | Member List | Search | Help | Register | Login
The John Byrne Forum MOBILE
Byrne Robotics | The John Byrne Forum Page of 2 Next >>
Topic: Two gun ’heroes’? Post Reply | Post New Topic
Author
Byrne Robotics Member

Posted: 15 April 2024 at 5:54pm | IP Logged | 1 post reply

Looking at '90s comic art there seemed to be a massive increase in near Hulk-sized muscle guys firing off twin assault rifles, one in each paw, usually not even looking in the direction either is firing, with many shell casings flying about. A far cry from the old Two Gun Kid and his dual small sized shootin' irons, more like the worst Howling Commandos leaping up scene bellowing Wa-Hooo! at the top of their lungs and firing in all directions.

I'm no gun expert, and I guess I can appreciate the tree trunk like arms necessary to take automatic rifle kickback, but stuff like that, Punisher, Cable or similar character, are why I rarely set foot in a comic book shop for a couple of decades. Aside from sheer arm strength, perhaps not unlike for an archer character, why were so many of these dudes, well... muscle bound? I've seen those weight lifter type guys in real life a few times and they are very slow movers. Wouldn't these gun toting seekers of scum to remove from the world be terrible targets? Not just the speed factor but the size. I had a grandfather who was a sharp shooter in WWII and he was neither large or slow (if he had been I would never have known).